Our training programme

X-TechLab training consists of two annual sessions. Each of these two sessions focuses on two areas of training: " Crystallography and X-ray Diffraction Techniques " and " Tomography and Mathematical Engineering ". 

E & F Training

After a successful first edition, this year's edition should confirm the positive impact of the X-TechLab platform's training courses on the scientific community in May 2020. The Covid-19 pandemic forced us to postpone this session but above all reminded us of the urgency for the contnent to develop solutions and protocols adapted to its realities.

The November training session is of a special nature; everywhere in the world physical contact between people and movement is limited to the strict minimum, the observance of a social distance is obligatory as well as the systematic wearing of masks in all places and the regular disinfection of hands.

In a particularly vulnerable continent and as a Pan-African platform, our challenge is to be able to fulfil its training mission while responding to new societal demands and promoting the participation of all African countries.

We offer a new training formula combining online and face-to-face training with a significant part dedicated to applied research. This project will allow us to train efficiently, in a short period of time and at a lower cost a large majority of scientists from different African countries. This project draws its relevance from the fact that the training and scientific research landscape in Benin and in Africa in general reveals a notorious lack of technical platforms. Apart from the X-TechLab, no laboratory in Benin has diffractometers or microtomographs. A reality common to the majority of African countries.

It should be noted that as the language of training is English, a training course in scientific English will be available free of charge to French-speaking participants and will take place online from 19 October to 13 November 2020.

The X-TechLab training session will take place from 16 to 27 November 2020.

Scientific English training

                    The Technical English learning programme is Module I of the X-TechLab's X-ray techniques training programme. As English is the language of instruction for X-TechLab training courses, it appeared necessary to set up an English language upgrading programme for the French-speaking target group taking part in the training. The objective is to help the French-speaking candidates to better understand the lessons given in English while improving their language skills. 

  Learning Objectives

At the end of the course, the learner should be able to :

- pronounce correctly, in English, the terms used in crystallography, in X-ray diffraction techniques, or in X-ray tomography and mathematical engineering ;

- be able to write correctly, in English, the terminologies specific to X-ray techniques ;

- be able to understand without difficulty the courses given during the X-TechLab training sessions.

     participation conditions

                 This first edition of the training course in English is completely free of charge. All those who have shown an interest in the activities of the X-TechLab by registering for one of the training programmes "Crystallography and X-ray diffraction techniques" and "Mathematical engineering and X-imaging" are eligible. The English course will take place every day from 19 October to 13 November 2020. After registration, the candidate will receive an email from X-TechLab within a few days, which will direct him/her to the class of the day via the X-TechLab platform and the Edmodo LMS.

We would like to express our heartfelt thanks to Professor Gervais CHAPUIS whose "Crystallography Online Dictionary" has been widely used in the context of the scientific English courses.

TRAINING AXES

Crystallography and X-ray techniques

Areas intended for structural studies applied to various issues of interest in life sciences, agriculture, environment and energy.

Our lecturers

  • José Manuel MERINO ALVAREZ, Professor, Université Autonome de Madrid, Espagne, josem.merino@uam.es
  • Eberhardt Josué FRIEDRICH KERNAHAN, PhD, Université Autonome de Madrid, Espagne, josue.friedrich@uam.es
  • Thomas BLANTON, PhD, Executive Director, International Centre for Diffraction Data, tblanton@icdd.com
  • Philip Oladijo, Professor, Botswana International University of Science and Technology, Botswana, oladijop@biust.ac.bw
  • Michele ZEMA, PhD, Université de Pavia, Italie, IUCr Executive Outreach Officer, michele.zema@unipv.it
  • Suzanna WARD, Head of the Cambridge Structural Database, Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre, ward@ccdc.cam.ac.uk
  • Thierry d’ALMEIDA, Research Director, Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives (CEA), France, Thierry.DALMEIDA@cea.fr
  • Etienne SAGBO, PhD, Université d’Abomey-Calavi, esagbo@yahoo.fr
  • Marielle AGBAHOUNGBATA, PhD, X-TechLab, Agence de Développement de Sèmè City, m.agbahoungbata@xtechlab.co

Tomography and mathematical engineering

Development and implementation of a methodology for the development of innovative, ecological materials adapted to the local environment. This methodology implements a chain comprising the acquisition of 2D images allowing the 3D reconstruction of the interior of the samples, the extraction of morphological data using mathematical methods and numerical calculations.

Our lecturers

Notre programme de formation

La formation X-TechLab se compose de deux sessions annuelles. Chacune de ces deux sessions porte sur deux axes de formation : « Cristallographie et Techniques de Diffraction  X » et  « Tomographie et Ingénierie Mathématique ». 

Prochaine session de formation: 16 au 27 novembre 2020  –   Formation en anglais scientifique à partir du 19 octobre.

E & F Training

Après une première édition courronnée de succès, celle de cette année devait en mai 2020 confirmer l’impact positif des formations de la plateforme X-TechLab sur la communauté scientifique. La pandémie de la Covid-19 nous a obligé à reporter cette session mais a surtout rappelé l’urgence pour le contnent de développer des solutions et protocoles adaptés à ses réalités.

La session de formation de novembre revêt un caractère particulier; partout dans le monde les contacts physiques entre personnes et les déplacements sont limités au strict minimum, l’observance d’une distance sociale est obligatoire de même que le port systématique de masque en tout lieu et la désinfection régulière des mains.

Dans un continent particulièrement vulnérable et en tant que plateforme
panafricaine, notre défi est de pouvoir accomplir sa mission de formation tout en répondant aux nouvelles exigences sociétales et en favorisant la participation de tous les pays Africains.

Nous offrons une nouvelle formule de formation combinant la formation en ligne et la formation en mode présentiel avec une part importante dédiée aux travaux de recherche appliqués, ce projet permettra de former efficacement, en peu de temps à moindre coût une grande majorité de scientifiques issue de différents pays Africains. Ce projet tire davantage sa pertinence du fait que le paysage de la formation et de la recherche scientifique au Bénin et en Afrique en général révèle une défaillance notoire de plateaux techniques. En dehors du X-TechLab, aucun laboratoire au Bénin ne dispose de diffractomètres ni de microtomographe. Une réalité commune à la majorité des pays Africains.

Soulignons que la langue de formation étant l’anglais, il est mis gratuitement à la disposition des participants francophones une formation en anglais scientifique qui se déroulera en ligne du 19 octobre au 13 novembre 2020.

La session de formation du X-TechLab se déroulera du 16 au 27 novembre 2020.

Formation en anglais scientifique

                    Le programme d’apprentissage de l’anglais technique constitue le module I du programme de formation du X-TechLab sur les techniques de rayons X. L’anglais étant la langue d’enseignement des formations X-TechLab, il est apparu nécessaire de mettre en place un programme de mise à niveau en anglais pour la cible francophone qui participe à la formation. L’objectif est d’aider les candidats francophones à mieux comprendre les leçons données en anglais tout en améliorant leurs compétences linguistiques. 

  Objectifs d’apprentissage

A la fin de la formation, l’apprenant doit être capable de :

– prononcer correctement, en anglais, les termes utilisés en cristallographie, dans les techniques de diffraction des rayons X, ou en tomographie à rayons X et en ingénierie mathématique ;

– être capable d’écrire correctement, en anglais, les terminologies spécifiques aux techniques des rayons X ;

– être capable de comprendre sans difficulté les cours donnés lors des sessions de formation du X-TechLab.

     Conditions de participation

                 Cette première édition de formation en anglais est entièrement gratuite. Toutes les personnes qui ont manifesté un intérêt pour les activités du X-TechLab en s’inscrivant à l’un des programmes de formation « Crystallography and X-ray diffraction techniques » et « Mathematical engineering and X-imaging » sont éligibles. Le cours d’anglais aura lieu tous les jours du 19 octobre au 13 novembre 2020. Après l’inscription, le candidat recevra, dans les jours qui suivent, un courriel de X-TechLab qui le dirigera vers la classe du jour via la plateforme X-TechLab et le LMS Edmodo.

Nous formulons ici un remerciement appuyé au Professeur Gervais CHAPUIS dont le disctionnaire « Crystallography Online Dictionnary » a été abondamment utilisé dans le cadre de la réalisation des cours d’Anglais scientifique.

AXES DE FORMATION

Cristallographie et Techniques de Diffraction X

Les domaines destinés aux études structurales appliquées à différentes problématiques d’intérêt dans des sciences du vivant, de l’agriculture, de l’environnement et de l’énergie.

Experts encadrants

  • José Manuel MERINO ALVAREZ, Professeur, Université Autonome de Madrid, Espagne, josem.merino@uam.es
  • Eberhardt Josué FRIEDRICH KERNAHAN, PhD, Université Autonome de Madrid, Espagne, josue.friedrich@uam.es
  • Thomas BLANTON, PhD, Directeur Excécutif, International Centre for Diffraction Data, tblanton@icdd.com
  • Philip Oladijo, Professeur, Botswana International University of Science and Technology, Botswana, oladijop@biust.ac.bw
  • Michele ZEMA, PhD, Université de Pavia, Italie, IUCr Executive Outreach Officer, michele.zema@unipv.it
  • Suzanna WARD, Directrice de la Cambridge Structural Database, Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre, ward@ccdc.cam.ac.uk
  • Thierry d’ALMEIDA, Directeur de Recherche, Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives (CEA), France, Thierry.DALMEIDA@cea.fr
  • Etienne SAGBO, Maître de conférences, Université d’Abomey-Calavi, esagbo@yahoo.fr
  • Marielle AGBAHOUNGBATA, PhD, X-TechLab, Agence de Développement de Sèmè City, m.agbahoungbata@xtechlab.co

Tomographie et Ingénierie Mathématique

Développement et mise en œuvre d’une méthodologie destinée à l’élaboration de matériaux innovants, écologiques et adaptés à l’environnement local. Cette méthodologie met en oeuvre une chaîne comprenant l’acquisition d’images 2D permettant la reconstruction en 3D de l’intérieur des échantillons, l’extraction de données morphologiques à l’aide de méthodes mathématiques et de calculs numériques.

Experts encadrants